top of page

Expectations and reality

I am just about to finish my internship soon and it is time to think what were the previous six months for me, what did I achieve, what did I learn, what were my expectations and what in fact happened. I found this internship as a great challenge before I came here, because this was my first job, not only in the sphere of Culinary Arts. I didn't know what exactly to expect from it. I prepared myself for many hours at work, for meeting new people and facing different obstacles. But what was the reality? I arrived in a new country, I had to get used to the way of life of the local people and of course to try to be good enough at my work. But in fact everything wasn't so difficult as it seems to me in the very beginning. I am lucky that I met people who made everything possible for me to adapt as soon as possible to the new circumstances and helped me to deal with any problems. I thought that the language would be a barrier, but it was not like that, because everybody here speaks English, which made me feel more secure. The long hours also were not a problem. My have been doing my work with pleasure and I really don't understand how the time in the kitchen is passing. I am grateful to my chef - Diego Poli - the pastry chef in Meo Modo by Andrea Mattei.

He has been explaining me everything from the very beginning up to now, he thought me new techniques and shew me some of the secrets of the pastry. He made me understand that I can achieve my goals. I still remember what he told me during my first days at work - "I want to teach you, so that after one month here you will be able to feel secure in what you are doing". And soon after the start the results were visible. After moving step by step I reached that level when i can have the responsibility for everything that is happening in the pastry during a whole service. I want to thank him for his efforts, patience and the trust that he has in me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page